Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Stefan Hiermaier

Gips Schüle Chair for Sustainable Systems Engineering,
Director Fraunhofer Institute for High-Speed Dynamics, EMI

Stefan Hiermaier researches the areas of lifecycle analysis, resilience quantification and materials behavior under dynamic and static loads.

Image
background

Vision: Establishing sustainability as the guiding principle of engineering science

Our resources are finite. To meet the needs of today’s and future generations, engineering sciences must responsibly develop materials and technical systems, as guided by principles of sustainability.

The Gips Schüle Chair for Sustainable Systems Engineering (SSE) teaches and researches three central areas:

1. Sustainable materials
Lifecycles, resource streams and product-material substitutes are taken into account. In this regard, energy demand and pollutant emissions of current production processes are evaluated, and an estimation is made of the long-term consequences of new technologies. The development and construction of resource-efficient technical systems requires comprehensive knowledge of the behaviors of the materials used.

2. Dynamic materials characterization
A material’s behavior is recorded, and the required characteristic values for the widest possible range of load cases are calculated. One area of focus is dynamic materials characterization, in which the time-dependence of the material’s behavior is examined. The chair is developing new test methods to address any resultant issues.

3. Failure mechanisms
Current knowledge of the failure mechanisms triggered at extreme loads has for a long time been based on near-surface observations of the material in question. However, failure also occurs in its interior. As yet, there are no technologies for examining processes that occur in a material’s depths. The chair is developing methods to make the hidden visible. At the same time, we are also researching strategies to examine how widely different systems – whether technical or societal – find their way back to their optimal operating range after serious malfunctions.

Research

The development and characterization of sustainable materials are the focus of the research

image
Dynamic Material Behaviour

Development of Split-Hopkinson methods for dynamic materials tests at strain-rate ranges between 100/s to 5000/s.

› Details

Image
Metamaterials

Mechanical metamaterials produced using additive manufacturing techniques offer new and tailored structural-property relationships.

› Details

Image
In-situ X-Ray

Damage-formation mechanisms are examined using in-situ X-ray computer tomography and digital volume-correlation algorithms.

› Details

Image
Sustainability analysis

Evaluation of the environmental impacts of new technologies, e.g. additive manufacturing processes in the context of rapidly changing industry.

› Details

Image
Composites

The behavior of sustainable, fiber-strengthened high-performance polymers is examined.


› Details

Image
Mesh-free methods

Implementation and development of mesh-free methods for simulating strong deformations and free surface phenomena.

› Details

Projects

Current research areas by members of the “Sustainable Systems Engineering” (SSE) chair:

Image
SCHARF – Concurrent multi-scale characterization of robust functional material systems

Effect of defects at the microscopic length scale on the macroscopically observable behavior of a structure, e.g. defects at the scale of particle size in metals. Primary focus: laser-melting manufactured metal materials from 3D printing.

Sponsored by the Carl Zeiss Foundation

Image
PROSET – Prospective Assessment of Emerging Technologies


Reliably predicting environmental effects of new technologies (e.g. additive manufacturing processes or digitalization) in the face of rapidly changing industrial conditions.


Sponsored by the Eva Mayr Stihl Foundation

Image
BeSurf – Beyond the Surface


The development of procedures for making visible hidden processes when materials are damaged under extreme load. Examination of fiber-composite materials of basalt fibers with in-situ X-ray methods and digital-volume correlation algorithms.

Sponsored by the Gips Schüle Foundation

Vita

Stefan Hiermaier is professor of Sustainable Systems Engineering at the Technical Faculty of the Albert Ludwigs University of Freiburg. Since 2015, Stefan Hiermaier has been director of the Fraunhofer Institute for short-term dynamics. He is also guest professor at Oxford University. Stefan Hiermaier studied air- and space-travel technologies at the University of Federal Armed Forces in Munich and attained his doctorate in 1996 at the Faculty for Construction Engineering and Surveying, where, in 2002, he habilitated. In 2008, he was awarded the extracurricular appointment to the professorship of High Dynamics.

Sustainable solutions for the selection, processing and use of materials and the behavior of materials and structures under dynamic load are the focus of Stefan Hiermaier’s research activities. To these ends, he studies the integration of experimental and numerical procedures for examining energy efficiency and resource protection in processes, as for strain-rate dependencies and the behavior of materials stressed by shockwaves. Primary areas of interest are the development of mesh-free methods and the formulation of mathematical models for materials behaviors under crash and impact loads.

Stefan Hiermaier has published multiple articles on these subjects. In 2008, Springer published his book, “Structures Under Crash and Impact”. He is the editor of “Numerical Modeling of Dynamic Processes” (Springer, 2009), as well as co-editor of the “International Journal of Impact Engineering”, and editor of the series “Epsilon-Punkt-Forschungsergebnisse aus der Kurzzeitdynamik” (Epsilon-Point Research Results from Short-Term Dynamics).

As director of INATECH, Hiermaier coordinates the development of the institute as the third institute of the Technical Faculty of the Albert Ludwigs University of Freiburg. Together with the Deputy Rector of Research at the Albert Ludwigs University of Freiburg, Professor Gunther Neuhaus, Stefan Hiermaier is Coordinator of the Sustainability Center Freiburg, a cooperation between the five Freiburger Fraunhofer Institutes and the Albert Ludwigs University.

Contact

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Stefan Hiermaier
stefan.hiermaier@inatech.uni-freiburg.de
Tel.: +49 761 2714-101
Fax: +49 761 2714-400

INATECH SSE
Gips Schüle Chair for Sustainable Systems Engineering

Albert Ludwigs University Freiburg
Solar Info Center
West entrance / 2nd floor (left)
Emmy Noether Street 2
79110 Freiburg, Germany

Secretary's office

Eva Mayer
eva.mayer@inatech.uni-freiburg.de
Tel.: +49 761 203-96786

Office hours

If you are interested in information on lectures, exams, research projects, and bachelor and masters programs, please email us at eva.mayer@inatech.uni-freiburg.de. We will respond as quickly as possible with all relevant information.

background
INATECH

Albert-Ludwigs-Universtität Freiburg
Emmy-Noether-Straße 2
D-79110 Freiburg

Google Maps

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Stefan Hiermaier

Gips-Schüle-Professur für Sustainable Systems Engineering,
Direktor Fraunhofer-Institut für Kurzzeitdynamik EMI

Stefan Hiermaier forscht in den Bereichen Lebenszyklenanalysen, Resilienzquantifizierung sowie Werkstoffverhalten unter dynamischen und statischen Lasten.

Image
background

Vision: Nachhaltigkeit als Leitgedanken in den Ingenieurwissenschaften etablieren

Unsere Ressourcen sind endlich. Um den Bedarf künftiger und heutiger Generationen zu sicherzustellen, muss eine verantwortungsvolle Ingenieurwissenschaft Materialien und technische Systeme unter nachhaltigen Gesichtspunkten entwickeln.

Die Gips-Schüle-Professur für Sustainable Systems Engineering (SSE) lehrt und forscht dazu in drei zentralen Gebieten:

1. Nachhaltige Materialien
Lebenszyklen, Ressourcenströme und Substitutionsmöglichkeiten von Materialien und Produkten werden betrachtet. In diesem Zusammenhang wird der Energiebedarf und Schadstoffausstoß aktueller Produktionsprozesse bewertet und eine langfristig orientierte Folgenabschätzung für neu entstehende Technologien betrieben. Die Entwicklung und Konstruktion ressourceneffizienter Technische Systeme benötigt umfassendes Wissen über das Verhalten der verwendeten Werkstoffe.

2. Dynamische Werkstoffcharakterisierung
Es werden das Materialverhalten erfasst und die benötigten Kennwerte für verschiedenste Lastfälle ermittelt. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der dynamischen Werkstoffcharakterisierung, bei der die Zeitabhängigkeit des Materialverhaltens untersucht wird. Für die hier auftretenden Fragestellungen entwickelt die Professur neue Prüfmethoden.

3. Versagensmechanismen
Das derzeitige Wissen über die an Belastungsgrenzen einsetzenden Versagensmechanismen basiert bislang auf oberflächennahen Beobachtungen des untersuchten Werkstoffes. Versagen entsteht jedoch auch im Inneren, aber es mangelt derzeit an Technologien um diese in der Tiefe versteckten Prozesse zu untersuchen. Die Professur entwickelt Methoden um das Verborgene sichtbar zu machen. Zugleich erforschen wir Strategien, wie Systeme verschiedenster Natur – technisch oder gesellschaftlich – nach einer schwerwiegenden Funktionsstörung optimal wieder in den Zustand der ursprünglichen Leistung zurückfinden.

Forschung

Im Mittelpunkt der Forschung stehen die Entwicklung und Charakterisierung von nachhaltigen Materialien

image
Dynamic Material Behaviour

Entwicklung von Split-Hopkinson-Methoden zur dynamischen Materialprüfung im Dehnratenbereich von 100 /s bis 5000 /s.

› Detailseite

Image
Metamaterials

Durch additive Fertigung entstandene Mechanische Metamaterialien bieten neuartige und zugleich anpassbare Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehungen.

› Detailseite

Image
In-situ X-Ray

Mechanismen der Schadensbildung werden mit Hilfe von in-situ Röntgen-Computertomographie und digitalen Volumenkorrelationsalgorithmen untersucht.

› Detailseite

Image
Sustainability Analysis

Evaluation der Umweltauswirkungen neuer Technologien, z.B. additive Fertigungsprozesse im Kontext eines sich rasch ändernden industriellen Umfelds.

› Detailseite

Image
Composites

Das Verhalten von nachhaltigen, faserverstärkten Hochleistungspolymeren wird untersucht.


› Detailseite

Image
Meshfree methods

Einsatz und Entwicklung netzfreier Methoden zur Simulation starker Deformationen und freier Oberflächenphänomene.

› Detailseite

Projekte

Die Professur »Sustainable Systems Engineering« (SSE) forscht aktuell in den Bereichen:

Image
SCHARF – Skalenübergreifende Charakterisierung robuster funktionaler Materialsysteme

Auswirkung von Defekten auf einer mikroskopischen Längenskala auf das makroskopische beobachtbare Verhalten einer Struktur, z.B. Defekte auf der Skala der Korngröße von Metallen. Im Mittelpunkt: aus 3D-Druckprozess Laserschmelzen gefertigte Metamaterialien.

Gefördert durch die Carl-Zeiss-Stiftung.

Image
PROSET – Prospective Assessment of Emerging Technologies


Umweltauswerkungen neuer Technologien (z.B. additive Herstellungsverfahren oder Digitalisierung) im Kontext sich schnell verändernder industrieller Rahmenbedingungen zuverlässig vorherzusagen.


Gefördert durch die Eva-Mayr-Stihl Stiftung.

Image
BeSurf – Beyond the Surface


Entwicklung von Verfahren, die verborgene Prozesse der Schädigung von Materialien bei extremen Belastungen sichtbar machen. Untersuchung von Faserverbundwerkstoffe aus Basaltfasern mit in-situ Röntgenmethoden und Digital-Volume-Correlation-Algorithmen.

Gefördert durch die Gips-Schüle-Stiftung.

Vita

Stefan Hiermaier ist Universitätsprofessor für Nachhaltige Ingenieursysteme an der Technischen Fakultät der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg. Seit 2015 ist Stefan Hiermaier Leiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Kurzzeitdynamik. Außerdem ist er Gastprofessor an der University of Oxford. Stefan Hiermaier studierte Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik an der Universität der Bundeswehr in München und promovierte 1996 an der Fakultät für Bauingenieur- und Vermessungswesen. 2002 hat er sich ebendort habilitiert; 2008 folgte seine Berufung auf die außerplanmäßige Professur für Hochdynamik.

Die Forschungsaktivitäten von Stefan Hiermaier konzentrieren sich auf nachhaltige Lösungen zur Selektion, Verarbeitung und Nutzung von Werkstoffen sowie auf das Material- und Strukturverhalten unter dynamischer Belastung. Dabei verfolgt er die Integration von experimentellen und numerischen Verfahren zur Untersuchung der Energieeffizienz und Ressourcenschonung bei Prozessen sowie zum dehnratenabhängigen und stoßwellenbeanspruchten Werkstoffverhalten. Wesentliche Themen sind die Entwicklung netzfreier Methoden und die Formulierung mathematischer Modelle für das Materialverhalten unter Crash- und Impaktlasten.

Stefan Hiermaier hat zu diesen Themen zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen verfaßt. Im Springer Verlag erschien 2008 sein Buch »Structures Under Crash and Impact«. Er ist Herausgeber des Buches »Numerical Modeling of Dynamic Processes«, Springer 2009, sowie Mitherausgeber des International Journal of Impact Engineering und Herausgeber der Schriftenreihe »Epsilon-Punkt-Forschungsergebnisse aus der Kurzzeitdynamik«.

Als Prodekan koordiniert Hiermaier den Aufbau des Instituts für Nachhaltige Technische Systeme als drittes Institut der Technischen Fakultät der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg. Zusammen mit dem Prorektor Forschung der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Prof. Dr. Gunther Neuhaus, ist Stefan Hiermaier Koordinator des Leistungszentrums Nachhaltigkeit, einer Kooperation der fünf Freiburger Fraunhofer-Institute und der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Stefan Hiermaier
stefan.hiermaier@inatech.uni-freiburg.de
Tel.: +49 761 2714-101
Fax: +49 761 2714-400

INATECH SSE
Gips-Schüle-Professur für Sustainable Systems Engineering

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Solar Info Center
Aufgang West / 2.OG (links)
Emmy-Noether-Straße 2
D-79110 Freiburg

Sekretariat

Eva Mayer
eva.mayer@inatech.uni-freiburg.de
Tel.: +49 761 203-54091

Sprechzeiten

Sie benötigen Auskünfte zu Vorlesungen, Prüfungen, Forschungsprojekten, Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten? Senden Sie uns eine Email (eva.mayer@inatech.uni-freiburg.de). Wir melden uns mit der benötigten Auskunft oder einem Gesprächstermin zeitnah bei Ihnen zurück.

background
INATECH

Albert-Ludwigs-Universtität Freiburg
Emmy-Noether-Straße 2
D-79110 Freiburg

Google Maps