Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Balle

Walter and Ingeborg Herrmann Chair for Engineering of Functional Materials

Frank Balle researches and develops sustainable, multi-functional materials concepts as well as their characterization and process technologies.

Image
background

Vision: Renewable materials systems with nearly infinite life

The road to technical metabolism

Imagine there were almost no waste, just as in nature there are only nutrients. In other words, imagine technical metabolism. On the way to this optimal goal, the initial selection of materials and available processing technologies play a decisive role.

After an engineering system reaches its end of life, the performing capacity of the system components are tested using a material-specific evaluation method. Safe reuse, or alternatively, optimal recovery of all components is the goal. Key technologies for effecting closed material life cycles are joining, separation and repair procedures for functional materials. The materials-science motto is thus: after use is before use!

The INATECH group led by Frank Balle follows this vision with the following approaches to research and education:

  • Hybrid materials systems: next-generation material composites and joints

    Lighter and more efficient structures that are simultaneously more functional and cost neutral to manufacture cannot feasibly be realized using monolithic materials concepts. Hybrid materials systems on the other hand open the way to new, customized solutions. A hybrid materials system is the result of the skillful combination of different materials or even classes of material by means of new manufacturing processes for composite materials or material compounds using a material-specific joining procedure.

  • Ultra + X: Pioneer applications of power ultrasonics

    The pivotal “Ultra + X” research project covers all areas that use power ultrasonics for characterizing or producing mostly hybrid materials systems. Frequency oscillations of up to 20,000 Hz are used to join very different materials, particularly light metals (Al, Ti, steels) with polymerized fiber-composite materials (CFK, GFK), and also glass and ceramics. A long-term goal is the further development of power ultrasonics towards a sustainable technology that can join, separate and repair “at the push of a button”; in other words, technical metabolism. Moreover, the technology used for the patented, quick calculation of the shelf-life of fiber-composite materials, is also employed to deeply examine application-relevant issues on the robustness and durability of materials systems.

  • Multi + X: Multifunctional materials concepts and multi-material systems of the future

    In addition to the production of hybrid lightweight structures, intrinsically produced composite materials are currently the focus of a fundamental examination. One focal point of this examination is the evaluation of the mechanically functional properties of composite materials such as C-Fiber and metal-fiber-strengthened plastics (CFK, MCFK) with a view to shelf-life/durability and digital damage monitoring. The foundations of transmitting welded joins at laboratory scale to component-like structures (multi-spot joints) are also being researched.

Research

The central focus of the research is hybrid materials engineering: the joining of materials as well as researching composite materials for sustainable engineering applications

Image
Ultra + X: Development and application of power ultrasonics for engineering applications


Solid state joining of dissimilar materials e.g. Al, Ti, steels with fiber-composite materials (CFK, GFK) as well as glasses or ceramics; end-of-life estimation and longevity of fiber-composite materials.


› Details

Image
Multi + X: Multifunctional materials concepts and multi-material systems


Fundamental study of intrinsically produced composite materials with a focus on the mechanical-functional properties of composite materials (CFK, MCFK) and sustainable processes of hybrid structures.

› Details

Image
Hybrid materials engineering: composite materials and hybrid joints


Produce lighter and more efficient structures while also improving functionality and keeping production costs neutral: no longer feasible using monolithic materials concepts. New production procedures and the skillful combination of dissimilar materials open the way to innovative concepts.

› Details

Projects

Current research areas at the Walter and Ingeborg Herrmann Chair for “Engineering of Functional Materials” (EFM):

Image
Aging resistant metal/CFRP joints for aerospace applications (USS transfer)


Image
Accelerated lifetime determination of fiber composites by ultrasonic fatigue (VHCFK)


Image
Activation and introduction of relevant defects in hybrid material systems by power ultrasonics (SCHARF)

Image
Sustainable tool concepts and condition monitoring for robust ultrasonic welding processes (NaSoKo)

Image
Damage-tolerant, electrically conductive and monitorable fiber composites for aircraft applications (MCFK)

Image
Ultrasonic joining of multi-material structures for automotive applications (Multi-Spot)

Vita

Frank Balle is Professor of Engineering of Functional Materials at the Engineering Faculty of the Albert-Ludwigs-University Freiburg. After his diploma program with its emphasis on materials engineering and design, Frank Balle pioneers the combination of light metals and carbon fiber-composite materials using power ultrasonics. After the PhD to Dr.-Ing. of Engineering, he founded a group with the help of the German Research Foundation (DFG) to study ultrasonic joining of multi-material structures. After two post-doctoral visits at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory (USA) and establishing his own group at the chair for Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Kaiserslautern, he took on the leadership and development of the new researc field “Hybrid Materials Engineering” as a junior professor. In 2018, he received several calls to university professorships, responding finally to the appointment from the Universtiy of Freiburg at INATECH and founded the new chair for “Engineering of Functional Materials”.

At INATECH, Prof. Balle researches the engineering of hybrid, often multifunctional materials systems. To this end, sustainable, ultrasonic-based procedures for joining different engineering materials as well as the rapid estimation of the durability of composite materials are being developed. The strongly application-oriented research projects are carried out with fundamental examinations of the microstructure, the bonding and damage mechanisms as well as the corresponding properties of selected engineering materials. In addition to established lightweight metals, such as aluminum and titanium alloys, polymer fiber-composite materials in particular, e.g. CFRP and GFRP, are currently being researched. Skillful combinations of new multifunctional concepts for fuselage and chassis applications in the aviation and automotive industries are two current examples. Based on the research vision on renewable materials systems, Frank Balle’s group is also engaged in new concepts concerning the repair, debonding and recycling on demand of hybrid materials.

You can find further information at his chair’s internet site.

Contact

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Balle
frank.balle@inatech.uni-freiburg.de
Tel.: +49 761 203-54200

INATECH EFM
Walter and Ingeborg Herrmann Chair for Engineering of Functional Materials

University of Freiburg
Solar Info Center
West entrance / 4th floor (right)
Emmy Noether Street 2
79110 Freiburg, Germany

Secretary's office

Christine Höher
christine.hoeher@inatech.uni-freiburg.de
Tel.: +49 761 203-54226

Office hours

If you are interested in information on lectures, exams, research projects, and bachelor and masters programs, please email us at christine.hoeher@inatech.uni-freiburg.de. We will respond as quickly as possible with all relevant information.

background
INATECH

Albert-Ludwigs-Universtität Freiburg
Emmy-Noether-Straße 2
D-79110 Freiburg

Google Maps

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Balle

Walter-und-Ingeborg-Herrmann-Professur für Leistungsultraschall und Technische Funktionswerkstoffe

Frank Balle erforscht und entwickelt nachhaltige multifunktionale Werkstoffkonzepte sowie deren ingenieurwissenschaftliche Prüf- und Prozesstechnik.

Image
background

Vision: Erneuerbare Werkstoffsysteme mit unendlicher Nutzungsdauer

Der Weg zum technischen Metabolismus

Stellen Sie sich vor, es gäbe nahezu keine Abfälle mehr, sondern in Analogie zur Natur nur noch Nährstoffe und somit einen technischen Stoffwechsel. Auf dem Weg zu diesem großen Ziel, spielen die initiale Werkstoffauswahl sowie verfügbare Verarbeitungstechnologien eine entscheidende Rolle.

Nach dem Erreichen einer anwendungsbezogenen Nutzungsdauer (End-of-Life) technischer Werkstoffsysteme wird durch materialspezifische Bewertungsmethoden die Leistungsfähigkeit der Systemkomponenten überprüft. Eine sichere Wiederverwendung oder alternativ eine hochwertige Wiederverwertung aller Komponenten ist das Ziel. Schlüsseltechnologien zur Umsetzung geschlossener technischer Materialkreisläufe stellen Verbindungs-, Trenn- und Reparaturverfahren für technische Funktionswerkstoffe dar. Das materialwissenschaftliche Credo lautet daher: Nach der Nutzung ist vor der Nutzung!

Die INATECH Gruppe um Frank Balle verfolgt diese Vision mit folgenden Ansätzen in Forschung und Lehre:

  • Hybride Werkstoffsysteme: Verbundwerkstoffe und Werkstoffverbunde der nächsten Generation

    Leichtere und effizientere Strukturen bei gleichzeitiger Erhöhung von Funktionalität sowie kostenneutraler Fertigung herzustellen, sind kaum noch durch monolithische Werkstoffkonzepte erreichbar. Hybride Werkstoffsysteme hingegen eröffnen neue maßgeschneiderte Lösungswege. Ein hybrides Werkstoffsystem entsteht durch die geschickte Kombination von verschiedenen Werkstoffen oder gar Werkstoffklassen mit Hilfe neuer Herstellungsverfahren zu einem Verbundwerkstoff oder alternativ zu einem Werkstoffverbund durch einen materialspezifischen Fügeprozess.

  • Ultra + X: Pionieranwendungen von Leistungsultraschall

    Im Forschungsschwerpunkt »Ultra + X« werden alle Themen zusammengeführt, die Leistungsultraschall zur Charakterisierung oder Herstellung von zumeist hybriden Werkstoffsystemen nutzen. So werden Schwingungen bei Frequenzen von 20.000 Hz zum Verbinden stark unterschiedlicher Werkstoffe, wie insbesondere Leichtmetalle (Al, Ti, Stähle) mit polymeren Faserverbundwerkstoffen (CFK, GFK) oder auch Gläsern bzw. Keramiken genutzt. Ein längerfristiges Ziel ist die Weiterentwicklung von Leistungsultraschall zu einer Nachhaltigkeitstechnologie, die ein Fügen, Trennen und Reparieren »auf Knopfdruck« erlaubt und somit einen technischen Metabolismus ermöglicht. Darüber hinaus nutzen wir die Technologie zur patentierten beschleunigten Lebensdauerermittlung von Faserverbundwerkstoffen, um anwendungsrelevante Fragestellungen zur Robustheit und Langlebigkeit von Materialsystemen grundlagenorientiert zu untersuchen.

  • Multi + X: Multifunktionale Werkstoffkonzepte und Multi-Material-Systeme der Zukunft

    Neben der Herstellung von hybriden Leichtbaustrukturen werden aktuell insbesondere intrinsisch hergestellte Verbundwerkstoffe grundlagenorientiert untersucht. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt hierbei auf der Bewertung mechanisch-funktioneller Eigenschaften von Verbundwerkstoffen wie z.B. C-Faser- oder Metallfaser-verstärkten Kunststoffen (CFK, MCFK) mit Blick auf Lebensdauer bzw. Langlebigkeit und digitaler Schädigungsüberwachung. Ferner werden Grundlagen zur Übertragung von Schweißverbindungen im Labormaßstab auf bauteilnahe Strukturen (Multi-Spot-Joints) betrachtet.

Forschung

Im Mittelpunkt der Forschung stehen hybride Werkstoffsysteme:
das Verbinden von Materialien sowie die Erforschung von Verbundwerkstoffen

Image
Ultra + X: Entwicklung und Anwendung von Leistungsultraschall für Ingenieuranwendungen


Verbinden stark unterschiedlicher Werkstoffe (z.B. Al, Ti, Stähle) mit Faserverbundwerkstoffen (CFK, GFK) oder auch Gläsern und Keramiken; Lebensdauerermittlung von Faserverbundwerkstoffen.


› Detailseite

Image
Multi + X: Multifunktionale Werkstoffkonzepte und Multi-Material-Systeme


Grundlagenorientierte Untersuchung intrinsisch hergestellter Verbundwerkstoffe – Schwerpunkt: mechanisch-funktionelle Eigenschaften von Verbundwerkstoffen (CFK, MCFK); Herstellung von Hybridstrukturen.

› Detailseite

Image
Hybride Werkstoffsysteme: Verbundwerkstoffe und Werkstoffverbunde


Leichtere und effizientere Strukturen erstellen und trotzdem Funktionalität erhöhen und Herstellungskosten neutral halten: mit monolithischen Werkstoffkonzepten ist das kaum noch möglich. Neue Herstellungsverfahren und die geschickte Kombination verschieder Werkstoffe eröffnen innovative Möglichkeiten.

› Detailseite

Projekte

Die Professur »Leistungsultraschall und Technische Funktionswerkstoffe« (EFM) forscht aktuell in den Bereichen:

Image
Alterungsbeständige Metall/CFK-Verbindungen für Luftfahrtanwendungen (USS-Transfer)

Image
Beschleunigte Lebensdauerermittlung von Faserverbundwerkstoffen durch Ultraschallermüdung (VHCFK)

Image
Aktivierung und Einbringung lebensdauerbestimmender Defekte in hybriden Materialsystemen durch Leistungsultraschall (SCHARF)
Image
Nachhaltige Sonotrodenkonzepte und Zustandsüberwachung beim Ultraschallschweißen (NaSoKo)

Image
Schadenstolerante, elektrisch leitfähige und überwachbare Faserverbundwerkstoffe für Flugzeuganwendungen (MCFK)
Image
Ultraschallfügen von Multi-Material-Strukturen für Automobilapplikationen (Multi-Spot)

Vita

Frank Balle ist Universitätsprofessor für Leistungsultraschall und Technische Funktionswerkstoffe (Engineering of Functional Materials) an der Technischen Fakultät der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg. Nach dem Diplomstudium mit Schwerpunkten zur Konstruktions- und Werkstofftechnik widmete sich Frank Balle der erstmaligen Verbindung von Leichtmetallen und Faserverbundwerkstoffen durch Leistungsultraschall. Nach der Promotion zum Dr.-Ing. baute er u. a. mit Unterstützung der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) eine Gruppe zum Ultraschallfügen von Multi-Material-Strukturen auf. Nach postdoktoralen Aufenthalten am Oak Ridge National Laboratory (USA) und der Etablierung einer eigenen Gruppe am Lehrstuhl für Werkstoffkunde der TU Kaiserslautern übernahm er die Leitung und den Aufbau des neuen Fachgebietes »Hybride Werkstoffsysteme« im Rahmen einer Juniorprofessur. 2018 erhielt er mehrere Rufe auf Universitätsprofessuren und folgte schließlich dem Ruf der Albert-Ludwigs-Universität ans INATECH.

Prof. Balle widmet sich am INATECH ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Forschungsfragen zu hybriden, z.T. multifunktionalen Werkstoffsystemen. Hierzu werden nachhaltige ultraschallbasierte Verfahren zur Verbindung unterschiedlicher Ingenieurmaterialien sowie zur beschleunigten Lebensdauerermittlung von Verbundwerkstoffen entwickelt. Die stark anwendungsorientierten Forschungsvorhaben werden durch grundlagenorientierte Untersuchungen zur Mikrostruktur, den Bindungs- und Schädigungsmechanismen sowie den korrespondierenden Eigenschaften ausgewählter Ingenieurwerkstoffe vervollständigt. Neben etablierten metallischen Leichtbauwerkstoffen, wie Aluminium- und Titanbasislegierungen, werden derzeit insbesondere polymere Faserverbundwerkstoffe wie CFK und GFK erforscht, die zum Teil durch geschickte Kombination neue multifunktionale Konzepte für Rumpf- bzw. Karosserieanwendungen in der Flugzeug- oder Automobilindustrie ermöglichen. Auf Basis der Forschungsvision zu erneuerbaren Werkstoffsystemen beschäftigt sich die Gruppe um Frank Balle zudem mit neuartigen Konzepten zur Reparatur sowie Trennung und Wiederverwendung von hybriden Materialsystemen.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Internetseite seiner Professur.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Frank Balle
frank.balle@inatech.uni-freiburg.de
Tel.: +49 761 203-54200

INATECH EFM
Walter-und-Ingeborg-Herrmann-Professur für Leistungsultraschall und Technische Funktionswerkstoffe

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Solar Info Center (SIC)
Aufgang West / 4.OG (rechts)
Emmy-Noether-Straße 2
D-79110 Freiburg

Sekretariat

Christine Höher
christine.hoeher@inatech.uni-freiburg.de
Tel.: +49 761 203-54226

Sprechzeiten

Sie benötigen Auskünfte zu Vorlesungen, Prüfungen, Forschungsprojekten, Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten? Senden Sie uns eine Email (christine.hoeher@inatech.uni-freiburg.de). Wir melden uns mit der benötigten Auskunft oder einem Gesprächstermin zeitnah bei Ihnen zurück.

background
INATECH

Albert-Ludwigs-Universtität Freiburg
Emmy-Noether-Straße 2
D-79110 Freiburg

Google Maps