Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Henning

Chair for Solar Energy Systems,
Director Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE

Hans-Martin Henning researches and develops technical energy systems for buildings.

Image
background

Vision: Establish solutions for an almost climate-neutral building stock

Buildings need plenty of energy: their demand is as high as that of transportation or industry. To efficiently reduce CO2 emissions and protect resources, several new technical solutions are needed in the area of buildings-energy technology.

The central and primary goal of the energy revolution in Germany is the drastic reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, of which the largest share is generated by energy-related carbon dioxide emissions. By 2050, Germany aims to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions by at least 80%, and if possible by 95% compared to 1990 level. Other countries have set equally ambitious targets in the reduction of the CO2 emissions.

In Germany, buildings account for roughly 40% of energy demand and for around a third of the primary energy consumed. More than four fifths of this energy demand is consumed by space and water heating. To significantly reduce climate-damaging gasses, especially CO2, a massive reduction of this demand is required.

Research in the area of building and energy technology is thus of special concern to the members of the Solar Energy Systems department. We are working closely with the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems, ISE.

Research

The following technical solutions are being researched by members of the “Solar Energy Systems” chair:

Image
Renewable energy systems for buildings and quarters

Evaluation and development of systems solutions for using renewable energies in buildings and quarters. The technological options range from heat pumps to solar heating and photovoltaics to cogeneration power plants, heating networks and thermal energy stores.

› Details

Image
Low-exergy systems (LowEx Systems)

The optimization of LowEx systems with special focus on heat pump systems and the availability of environmental energy sources: air, groundwater and geothermal energy, in context of urban development.


› Details

Image
Efficiency in space and water heating

Analysis of systems for preparation of hot drinking water and central-heating delivery. Using simulations and on-site monitoring, we are especially engaged in the optimization and efficiency gains of LowEx systems with heat pumps.


› Details

Image
Restructuring plans for apartment blocks

Simulating restructuring plans and the chronology of their implementation, taking into account the building age and city type as well as technical and economical dependencies and synergies, with the goal of the lowest possible CO2 emissions and total costs.

› Details

Projects

Current research areas by members of the “Solar Energy Systems” (SES) chair:

Image
LowEx Bestand – LowEx concepts for heat supply in existing multi-family buildings


› Details
Image
EnEff2050Begleit – Competition and project support within the framework of the funding initiative "EnEff.Gebäude.2050"

› Details
Image
EnEff:Stadt – Smart quarter Karlsruhe-Durlach - focus on evaluation


› Details
Image
ZAFH ENsource – Centre for applied research for urban energy systems and resource efficiency

› Details

Vita

Professor Hans-Martin Henning is director of the Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE in Freiburg and heads the “Solar Energy Systems” chair at the Institute for Sustainable Systems Engineering (INATECH, University of Freiburg). He is a member of acatech (German Academy of Technical Sciences) and spokesperson for the Fraunhofer Energy Alliance.

In 1993, Professor Henning attained his doctorate in physics at the University of Oldenburg and has been active in several capacities at the Fraunhofer ISE in Freiburg since 1994. In 2014, he was appointed to the “Technical Energy Systems” professorship at the Karlsruhe Institute for Technology (KIT). In 2017, he became head of the Fraunhofer ISE and since then has headed the “Solar Energy Systems” chair at the Institute for Sustainable Systems Engineering.

Professor Henning’s areas of focus are building and energy technology and energy-system analysis.

He plays a leading role in the development of calculation models for holistic simulation and optimization of complex energy systems, and, building on those studies, research into the development of national and regional energy systems that involves all energy sources and consumption sectors.

Contact

Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Henning
hans-martin.henning@inatech.uni-freiburg.de

INATECH SES
Chair for Solar Energy Systems

Albert Ludwigs University Freiburg
Solar Info Center
West entrance / 2nd floor (left)
Emmy Noether Street 2
79110 Freiburg, Germany

Secretary's office

Véronique Labis
veronique.labis@inatech.uni-freiburg.de
Tel.: +49 761 203-96783

Office hours

If you are interested in information on lectures, exams, research projects, and bachelor and masters programs, please email us at veronique.labis@inatech.uni-freiburg.de. We will respond as quickly as possible with all relevant information.

background
INATECH

Albert-Ludwigs-Universtität Freiburg
Emmy-Noether-Straße 2
D-79110 Freiburg

Google Maps

Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Henning

Professur für Solar Energy Systems,
Direktor Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme ISE

Hans-Martin Henning erforscht und entwickelt technische Energiesysteme für Gebäude.

Image
background

Vision: Lösungen für einen nahezu klimaneutralen Gebäudebestand etablieren

Gebäude brauchen viel Energie: der Bedarf ist ähnlich hoch wie der des Straßenverkehrs oder der Industrie. Zur effizienten Reduktion des CO2-Ausstoßes und zur Schonung von Ressourcen bedarf es zahlreicher neuer technischer Lösungen im Bereich der Gebäudeenergietechnik.

Das zentrale, übergeordnete Ziel der Energiewende in Deutschland ist eine drastische Absenkung der Treibhausgas-Emissionen, deren größter Anteil energiebedingte Kohlenstoffdioxid-Emissionen sind. Bis zum Jahr 2050 sollen die Treibhausgas-Emissionen Deutschlands um mindestens 80%, nach Möglichkeit aber um 95% gegenüber denen im Jahr 1990 abgesenkt werden. Neben Deutschland haben zahlreiche weitere Länder ehrgeizige Ziele zur Reduktion des CO2-Ausstoßes formuliert.

Der Gebäudebetrieb ist in Deutschland für rund 40% des Endenergiebedarfs und für rund ein Drittel des Verbrauchs an Primärenergie verantwortlich. Davon entfallen mehr als vier Fünftel auf Raumwärme und Warmwasser. Zur erheblichen Verringerung des Aufkommens klimaschädlicher Gase, insbesondere von CO2, ist eine massive Senkung dieser Verbrauchswerte notwendig.

In diesem Kontext wird an der Professur für »Solar Energy Systems« im Bereich der Gebäudeenergietechnik geforscht. Wir arbeiten dabei eng mit dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Solare Energiesysteme ISE zusammen.

Forschung

An der Professur für »Solar Energy Systems« wird an technischen Lösungen in folgenden Bereichen geforscht:

Image
Erneuerbare Energietechnik für Gebäude und Quartiere

Bewertung und Entwicklung von Systemlösungen für die Nutzung erneuerbarer Energie in Gebäuden und Quartieren. Die Technologie-Optionen reichen von Wärmepumpen über Solarthermie und Photovoltaik bis hin zu Blockheizkraftwerken, Wärmenetzen und thermischen Speichern.

› Detailseite

Image
Niedrig-Exergie-Systeme (LowEx-Systeme)

Optimierung von LowEx-Systemen mit besonderem Fokus auf Wärmepumpen-Systemtechnik und Verfügbarkeit der Umwelt-Wärmequellen Luft, Grundwasser und Erdwärme im städtebaulichen Kontext.



› Detailseite

Image
Effizienz bei Warmwasser und Raumwärme

Analyse von Systemen zur Trinkwarmwasser-Bereitung und Raumwärme-Übergabe. Mit Hilfe von Simulationen und Monitoring vor Ort beschäftigen wir uns insbesondere mit der Optimierung und Effizienz-Steigerung von LowEx-Systemen mit Wärmepumpen.

› Detailseite

Image
Sanierungskonzepte für Mehrfamilienhäuser

Simulation von Sanierungspaketen und deren zeitliche Abfolge der Umsetzung unter Berücksichtigung von Baualtersklasse und Stadtraumtyp sowie technischer und ökonomischer Abhängigkeiten und Synergien mit dem Ziel möglichst niedriger CO2-Emissionen und Gesamtkosten.

› Detailseite

Projekte

Die Professur »Solar Energy Systems« (SES) forscht aktuell in den Bereichen:

Image
LowEx-Bestand – LowEx-Konzepte für die Wärmeversorgung von Mehrfamilien-Bestandsgebäuden

› Detailseite
Image
EnEff2050Begleit – Wettbewerbs- und Projektbegleitung im Rahmen der Förderinitiative "EnEff.Gebäude.2050"

› Detailseite
Image
EnEff:Stadt – Smartes Quartier Karlsruhe-Durlach – Schwerpunkt Evaluierung


› Detailseite
Image
ZAFH ENsource – Zentrum für angewandte Forschung Urbane ENergiesysteme und Ressourceneffizienz

› Detailseite

Vita

Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Henning ist Leiter des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Solare Energiesysteme ISE in Freiburg und Inhaber der Professur »Solar Energy Systems« am Institut für Nachhaltige Technische Systeme (INATECH, Universität Freiburg). Er ist Mitglied der acatech (Deutsche Akademie der Technikwissenschaften) und Sprecher der Fraunhofer-Allianz Energie.

Prof. Dr. Henning promovierte 1993 an der Universität Oldenburg in Physik und ist seit 1994 am Fraunhofer ISE in Freiburg in verschiedenen Funktionen tätig. Im Jahr 2014 erhielt er einen Ruf auf die Professur „Technische Energiesysteme“ am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT). 2017 wurde er zum Institutsleiter des Fraunhofer ISE berufen und ist seither Inhaber der Professur „Solare Energiesysteme“ am Institut für Nachhaltige Technische Systeme.

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte von Hans-Martin Henning liegen im Bereich der Gebäudeenergietechnik und der Energiesystemanalyse.

Er ist federführend beteiligt an der Entwicklung von Rechenmodellen zur ganzheitlichen Simulation und Optimierung komplexer Energiesysteme und darauf aufbauenden Untersuchungen zur Entwicklung nationaler und regionaler Energiesysteme unter Einbeziehung aller Energieträger und Verbrauchssektoren.

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Hans-Martin Henning
hans-martin.henning@inatech.uni-freiburg.de

INATECH SES
Solar Energy Systems

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Solar Info Center
Aufgang West / 2.OG (links)
Emmy-Noether-Straße 2
D-79110 Freiburg

Sekretariat

Véronique Labis
veronique.labis@inatech.uni-freiburg.de
Tel.: +49 761 203-96783

Sprechzeiten

Sie benötigen Auskünfte zu Vorlesungen, Prüfungen, Forschungsprojekten, Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten? Senden Sie uns eine Email (veronique.labis@inatech.uni-freiburg.de). Wir melden uns mit der benötigten Auskunft oder einem Gesprächstermin zeitnah bei Ihnen zurück.

background
INATECH

Albert-Ludwigs-Universtität Freiburg
Emmy-Noether-Straße 2
D-79110 Freiburg

Google Maps